Amanda’s Skin Care Routine

Hello all! I thought I would share with you all the products I like to slather all over my face. πŸ™‚
A little background on my skin type: very dry, very acne prone skin.
I’ve had issues with acne since I was a teenager and even now, I’m 24 and I still have some issues. It’s gotten a lot better, especially over the last year, but it’s certainly not perfect and pretty much never face demon free.
My morning and night routine are pretty much the same but I will note any differences.
As most skin care routines begin I start with a makeup remover wipe. I don’t really have a certain kind that I use. I usually pick up whatever I can find a TJMaxx for 3 or 4 bucks.
Then I wash my face with…face wash! The two I have been using for quite a while now are Purity by Philosophy and the Charcoal Detox Deep Pore Cleanser from Michael Todd. I keep one in the shower and one by the bathroom sink. I really enjoy both of these washes and think they do a lovely job. They don’t dry out my skin, which is a huge issue for me. I have also used the Michael Todd Honey Oat Facial Wash, and I really like that one too.

20140412-222019.jpg
After I was my face I like to use a toner with an exfoliating cotton round. I got mine as Walgreens for 3 or 4 dollars. At night, I use the exfoliating side, and in the morning I use the soft cotton side. The toner that I have been loving is the Michael Todd Blue Green Algae toner. I think the bottle I am on is probably my fourth or fifth bottle. I also went through one bottle of the Michael Todd Organic Lemon Toner.Β While I liked that one, I did not find it as good as the Blue Green Algae one. The antibacterial-ness of the Blue Green Algae has really helped keep my skin clear. I did notice that when I stopped using this toner and used the Lemon one, my face was breaking out more than when I did use it. So, I think I will stick to using this toner. The Micahel Todd stuff can be a bit pricey, but if you sign up for an account, you get 20% off every purchase.

20140412-222742.jpg

After toning my face, I use moisturizer. With such dry skin, moisturizer is super important for me. I found this SPA Eye Cream at TJMaxx for $6 and I really like it. I don’t know where else you can find this brand, but I almost always see it at my TJMaxx. Not to totally overdue it on the Michael Todd stuff, but my morning moisturizer is the Citrus Cream Moisturizer. It is a lightweight moisturizer that doesn’t leave my face feeling greasy or oily. It soaks in quickly too, which for use in the morning under makeup is important.

20140412-222749.jpg

At night, I like to use the SPA Eye Cream along with a little concoction of essential oils. I would definitely not recommend every day use of oils for those folks with oily skin, but for me, it is perfect. I found all my oils at my local health food store.

Tea tree oil is NOT Moisturizing! If you plan on using an oil treatment, do not just use tea tree oil. The reason I use tea tree oil in combination with the rose hip oil and the jojoba oil is because of its antibacterial properties. Tea tree oil is great for acne prone skin and can also make a good spot treatment on those face demons at night. I find that this oil treatment works really well for my dry skin and has helped keep my face more moisturized. An oil treatment can totally be used on oily skin too, but I would recommend putting it on a cotton round, wiping it on your face and just letting it sit for 5 to 10 minutes. I would use a warm washcloth and wash away the excess oil left on your face. I simply put all my oils on a cotton round, wipe it all over my face and leave it on over night.

20140412-222805.jpg

About once a week (if I actually remember) I like to use a good exfoliator and a mask on my face. I have really been loving the the White Tea Kiwi Facial Scrub from TheBalm for my exfoliator. I got mine when TheBalm was on Haute Look and it was a pretty nice sale πŸ™‚ Β Its really gentle, but feels like it gets a deep down clean. It totally smells like kiwi too. A friend of mine gave me this clay mask and I really like it. I think you can find this brand at Wal-Mart or Walgreens maybe. After I exfoliate I like to place this mask all over my face and let it dry for about 10 to 15 minutes. Its amazing how clean and fresh my face feels after I use this mask. I should get better at using it every week. I like to use a warm wet washcloth to gently remove the mask and then use my toner and moisturizer.

20140412-222758.jpg

I have been using all of these products for quite some time and really like them for my skin type. I do have kind of an unusual skin type because it is acne prone, but really dry. Most products made for acne prone skin are also made for oily skin, because usually those two things go hand in hand. I feel like I have found products that help control acne while not drying out my face even more.

Hope you all enjoyed this trip into my skin care routine! I would love to hear what some of your favorite products are!!

-A

 

8 thoughts on “Amanda’s Skin Care Routine

  1. Very interesting!! I know you’ve told me about the Micheal Todd stuff but like Judy, I haven’t tried anything yet! I need to get a good skin care routine in place. I mean I do things I need to do but I should put more research in the types of products πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

