Bare Minerals Bare Skin Foundation Review!

Hey everyone!

I am on the never ending quest of finding the perfect foundation and along the way, I picked up this new foundation from Bare Minerals.

IMG_3400.JPG

IMG_3401.JPG
My color is 03, bare linen. When I went to Sephora to get matched for this, the girl who did it just by looking said that I didn’t match any colors on this foundation. Then I had a different girl ask if I wanted to do the color IQ matching so I said yes and she matched me to this color. I would say the color is pretty dead on! She also told me I had more yellow undertones to my skin which was a surprise to me because I always thought I had more pink undertones.
This foundation retails for $29 at Sephora and it is also recommended that you buy the brush to go with it for $28. I didn’t feel the need to spend that much on a brush and figured I had something at home that would work. The brush pictured above is the one I have been using with this foundation and I think it works pretty well. I got it online either at hautelook.com or zulily.com, I can’t actually remember. It is not quite as stiff or dense as the brush they advertise to go with this foundation, but it is a relatively dense flat top brush and I think it works just fine!

I had a decent breakout occurring on the right side of my face, so what better time to test a foundation. Here is my face freshly washed with no product on it at all.

IMG_3399.JPG
OMG Holy no makeup face!!! Face demons everywhere!IMG_3398.JPG

IMG_3402.JPG

They recommend you shake the foundation thoroughly and place three drops on your brush. They say three drops should be enough to cover your whole face, which for someone who doesn’t have as many face demons as I do, may be enough coverage. For me, I use about 6 drops for my entire face, starting with a layer of three drops, then a second layer of another three.

IMG_3447.JPG

IMG_3448
Two layers of Bare Skin Foundation
IMG_3446.JPG
Photos were taken inside, but by the door with natural light.

For the rest of my face I used my Cover FX Primer

Milani Baked Bronzer in 04 Glow

NYX Powder Blush in Cinnamon

Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Concealer in Fair

Sephora MicroSmooth Baked Luminizer in Light Beam

Pur Minerals Face Powder

Milani Eye Primer

Two Faced Chocolate Bar Palette

Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Eyeliner in Black

ELF Liquid Eyeliner in Black

Maybelline Colossal Volume Express Mascara in Blackest Black

IMG_3412

And The finished Face! Overall, I really like this foundation. It matches my skin well and has very good staying power. The foundation is super liquid-y and would not be good to use with a sponge. I don’t think it is worth it to buy the brush that goes with it when you can find a brush that will do the job just as well for a lot less. I do find this foundation to be a little difficult to blend around my nose; this is the first area the foundation starts to wear off from during the day. The Bare Skin foundation is light to medium coverage but definitely buildable. As you can see from the previous photos, it did a great job covering my blemishes and blends very nicely into the skin.

IMG_3462.JPG

27 thoughts on “Bare Minerals Bare Skin Foundation Review!

  1. Wow, you look amazing in the final picture! Very radiant complexion, natural look, the foundation melted perfectly into your skin and covered all the breakouts. I was getting curious about it, so I’m now even more convinced about giving it a try! Thanks for sharing your review, it’s so helpful!

    Like

  2. Oooooooooooooo you have so many items on my to buy list 🙂 I have the too faced palette in the mail! I think you have finished your quest for the perfect foundation though. You look lovely!

    Like

  3. Interesting! I’m glad you like it though. I’ve heard such mixed things that I haven’t really thought about trying it even though I’ve used Bare Minerals stuff for so long. But I also have no idea what kind of skin I have right now so that doesn’t help haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

