Review: Paula’s Choice Earth Sourced Perfectly Natural Cleansing Gel

Hey everyone! I have a review to share with you today on a facial cleanser.

I had been using Philosophy’s Purity for a very long time, and I’ve finally run out. It was one thing I considered to be worth the splurge because as time has gone on, I’ve realized how important it is to thoroughly remove the makeup from your skin at the end of the day. The thought of a bunch of gunk and residue left over on my face from a cleanser not doing its job gives me the heebie jeebies.

Unfortunately Philosophy is not a cruelty free brand so I knew I needed to find an alternative.

I first head about the Paula’s Choice Earth Sourced Perfectly Natural Cleansing Gel from Tarababyz. She’s very invested in her skin care and recently made very detailed video about her skin care products where she mentioned that this cleanser does a great job at removing makeup. Hearing this along with having heard some good things about Paula’s Choice along the way, I decided to check it out.

Below I’ve provided a bit of background and some personal thoughts on Paula’s Choice-this post will likely be quite lengthy so feel free to skip ahead to the product review below this paragraph!

Paula Begoun, known as the Cosmetics Cop, is the mastermind behind Paula’s Choice, and has authored many books including “Don’t Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me” which I believe is one of the things that has gained the brand a somewhat cult following. She is also associated with Beautypedia Reviews which provide reviews on endless amounts of makeup and skincare products. From what I’ve read, it seems like people tend to either love Paula’s Choice or be skeptical of it. Paula and her team created a product line (Paula’s Choice) which is rated among the best in Beautypedia reviews, and can lead people to question the honesty and accuracy of the reviews and products. Bias perhaps? I believe that with the years Paula and her team have invested into researching products and ingredients, that gives them sound reasoning and justification to create a line of products based on the same science being used to evaluate other products. My take? Be balanced and open minded. I think Paula’s Choice and Beautypedia information and reviews provide a wealth of information that could really change how you see makeup and skincare, and I’m personally interested in learning more. On the other hand, be aware that Beautypedia reviews are heavily based on product ingredients. For instance, if a specific product contains an ingredient that the team believes to be irritating, the product might be rated very poorly because of that one ingredient and despite its performance. Does that mean it doesn’t actually work or can’t work for you? Of course not. Additionally, Paula’s Choice products are not going to work perfectly for anyone either. Skin care is a huge game of trial and error. I personally think the reviews are helpful especially on the ingredient side but just like any beauty product, qualities like performance are very subjective. Just use your best judgement and common sense, and do plenty of your own research.

On to the cleanser! From doing some research, I really put my faith into this product before even testing it and purchased two bottles…Crazy right? Clearly I was really hoping this would work! But the site seems to have a solid return policy if something doesn’t work out for you so I figured why not? Plus I was trying to get to $50 for free shipping.

Product: Paula’s Choice Earth Sourced Perfectly Natural Cleansing Gel

Amount of Product: 6.7 fluid ounces

Price: $17 (You can also purchase a 0.12 fluid ounce sample for 50 cents)

Details:  “It’s only natural. Well, 99% natural. A cleanser gentle enough to use on babies also removes your makeup easily.”

  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Soothes sensitive skin
  • 99% natural ingredients

Animal Testing: Paula’s Choice is cruelty free!

Where You Can Find It: Paula’s Choice products can be purchased online at paulaschoice.com

IMG_4215.JPGIMG_4218.JPGIMG_4216.JPG

IMG_4217.JPG

IMG_4220.JPG

The primary thing I was looking for this cleanser to do was remove my makeup and clean my skin. I don’t care about exfoliating, moisturizing, etc in a cleanser. That’s what other products are created for.

I’m happy to report that I feel like this cleanser does a very nice job of removing my makeup and cleaning my skin. A helpful way for me to see this is when I go to wash off my eye makeup. By just using average pressure with my fingers, I can see all of my eye makeup including mascara (I don’t use waterproof mascara so I can’t vouch for that) being dissolved and removed with this cleanser.

This cleanser has a gel texture and is a mix between a light lather and a creamy consistency. It has a peculiar smell to it which comes from the natural ingredients (there is no added fragrance.) I wouldn’t say it’s a pleasant smell, but it also isn’t super unpleasant or irritating to me. I find that it rinses off easily and once my skin has dried, my face feels soft and smooth. It doesn’t leave me with a tight, dry feeling afterwards. It doesn’t feel irritating to my eyes and doesn’t break me out. I have been using this for a few weeks.

Final Thoughts: I am very pleased with this product, and I will continue to purchase it. I am happy to say that this cruelty free product will be replacing my previous cleanser. Unfortunately it’s not the cheapest of options, but like I said, skin care is an important investment for me so I’d rather spend less on makeup so I can invest in good skin care.

I think I’d like to slowly try out more Paula’s Choice products after having good luck with this cleanser and a couple other samples I tried from my order. Also, watch out for sales! I recently saw a 15% off sale on the whole website so if you shop smart, it might make trying these products out a bit easier.

I hope you found this lengthy review helpful! I just wanted to provide some extra background information and personal opinions in case you’d ever heard hype or skepticism about these products or the brand. Again, I purchased these products myself and as always, these are my honest thoughts and opinions. Please let me know if you have any questions and thanks so much for reading 🙂

12 thoughts on “Review: Paula’s Choice Earth Sourced Perfectly Natural Cleansing Gel

    1. Oh I’m so glad! If you do I hope it works for you! It’s always a bummer when you hear of something that works great for someone and then it’s kinda blah for you haha. For sure! Such a cool, hard working gal 🙂

      Like

  1. Hey girl! I hear a lot about Paula’s Choice products. I’ve yet to try any other face wash ever since I started OCM (oil cleansing method) Anyway, great review 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey! Thanks so much! It’s hard to veer away from something once you feel good about it. Something about that method just doesn’t necessarily sit right with me since I typically have oily skin (although it seems to be shifting lately haha). But it’s funny since I am trying out different facial oils though. Go figure 🙂

      Like

      1. For sure! I did get another product in the order but have been hesitant to do any skin care reviews for the more part because I honestly have no idea what my skin is doing these days! All these hormones seemed to have changed it so I don’t know what to attribute to products and what to attribute to hormones that may change even more as time goes on! Hahah

        Like

Leave a Reply

