Review, Swatches, and Eye Look: Sugarpill Burning Heart Palette

Hey everyone! I’m very excited to bring you today’s post since this is a product from a brand that’s been on my wishlist for ages. Today I’ll be sharing with you the  Burning Heart Palette. Here is my post on the Heart Breaker Palette. I bought this palette from the Sugarpill website.

Price: $34

Amount of Product: 4 eye shadows at 0.12 ounces each, net weight is 3.5 grams

Animal Testing: Sugarpill is cruelty free

A note on the price of these products-at first glance, $34 seems like a pretty high amount to pay for four eye shadows. But keep in mind that these shadows are quite large. A single Sugarpill eye shadow contains 0.12 ounces of product and costs $12.  A MAC eyeshadow pan contains 0.05 ounces of product and costs $10.  If you bought two MAC eye shadows it would cost you $20, and you would still get slightly less product than a single Sugarpill shadow. Plus when you buy Sugarpill’s four pan palettes, the cost per shadow is $8.50 instead of $12 so that provides some extra savings as well.

The palette is cardboard and features a mirror at the top.

DSCN3804

DSCN3812
Palette Sleeve

Below are photos of each shade along with swatches. The color descriptions come from the Sugarpill website. Swatches are one swipe of product over no primer or base.

The Burning Heart Palette contains the shades Flamepoint, Butter CupcakeLove+, and Poison Plum.

DSCN3806

DSCN3811
DSCN3812

DSCN3815

DSCN3830

DSCN3822
Matte orange
DSCN3824
Matte yellow
DSCN3827
Bright red
DSCN3829
Matte purple with semi pearly sheen (red undertones, deeper than 2AM)

DSCN3885 DSCN3891

And of course with such fun, bright colors at my disposal, I had to include an bold, colorful eye look using this palette! I used Milani’s Eye Shadow Primer as a base.

The lasting power of these shadows is good-the colors stayed vibrant on me throughout the day. These colors are also very nicely pigmented. As you’ll notice from the swatches above, one swipe of product doesn’t create the full on vibrancy that you see in the pan, but these colors build up very nicely on the eye. These shadows feel drier to the touch, Poison Plum the least so. I didn’t have much of an issue with fallout or the product kicking up too much powder when using my brushes which I appreciate.

One con to note-I experienced some staining with these shadows, in particular Love+ and Poison Plum. I noticed some staining where I used these colors on the eyelid, and I also had a pink eyebrow the follow day since I I used Poison Plum in my brows in the look above. Maybe it would be helpful to experiment with different bases to see if some of the staining could be eliminated. Perhaps a thicker, stickier base like a NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil might absorb some of that color?

Overall, I am so happy to have this palette, and I really enjoy it!  I was really interested in this brand when I first discovered it, and I’d love to slowly build up my collection of their fun, colorful products. If you are looking for some bright, vibrant, fun colors, I would recommend this palette. The shadows are large and considering these won’t be every day colors for me, I think they are going to last a very long time. I think this collection of shades is really unique, and I’m excited to finally own these.

Feel free to leave any questions or comments, and thank you for stopping by and reading 🙂

37 thoughts on “Review, Swatches, and Eye Look: Sugarpill Burning Heart Palette

  1. Great review! I have this palette and love it, the pigmentation is a lot more consistent than Heartbreaker. But yeah, even over NYX e/s base it stains 😦 Loving the purple brows though!

    Like

    1. Thank you!! Ah interesting. I had good luck with Heartbreaker yesterday but I haven’t gotten to play with them too much overall! Aw that’s a bummer. I think that’ll be the main issue, I still saw some pink tinge in my brows today haha

      Like

    1. Thanks beautiful! I figured if I’m gonna go all out I may as well just go for it! I kinda wish “crazy” colored brows were a typical part of everyday makeup haha. Maybe in the space age future 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

