Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit: Review and Swatches

Hey everyone! Today I’m sharing my review of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kit in Moonchild.  I wanted to get this review up as soon as possible because as far as I know, this palette is limited edition. (Update: It looks like this palette is permanent now…it is still available on the website as of 2/18/17.) This palette can be purchased on the Anastasia Beverly Hills website (linked above), and based on their social media posts, it will not be available for purchase in stores.

Price: $40

Amount of Product: 0.15 ounces x 6 pans, net weight of .90 ounces (the four pan Glow Kits have a net weight of 1.04 ounces)

Animal Testing: Anastasia Beverly Hills is a cruelty free company

The Moonchild Glow Kit features six beautiful and unique pastel highlighters including two blue shades, a silver, a purple, a green, and a pink. The quality of this palette is comparable to the other Glow Kits-these highlighters are nicely pigmented, easy to blend, and perform well on my skin. The texture of these highlighters seems slightly different than that of the four pan glow kits in that they feel a little more light weight, but I don’t find that the quality is affected in a negative way.

The palette contains the following shades: (shade descriptions come from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Website)

Blue Ice – Diamond white with an icy blue reflect
Star – A moonstone fusion of mint, platinum and silver reflect
Purple Horseshoe – A glittering lavender with an arctic blue reflect
Pink Heart – Pearl white with a pink opal reflect
Lucky Clover – A shamrock-infused gold with canary yellow diamond reflect
Blue Moon – Frozen blue with a silver reflect

This is a sturdy cardboard palette and does not have a mirror. Unlike the other Glow Kits, three of these shades contain glitter. It’s not huge, chunky glitter but I would consider it to be glitter and not just the tiny shimmers seen in most highlighters. The shades with glitter are Blue Ice, Purple Horseshoe, and Pink Heart. I feel a little conflicted about the glitter. On one hand, we’re talking about blues and greens and purples so I’m not too bothered by the glitter. These aren’t natural colors in the first place and it kind of fits in with the celestial, fairy vibe. On the other hand, I find myself wishing the glitter wasn’t there since it makes a highlighter less natural for every day wear (although again these colors aren’t natural anyways!) It definitely sticks to the skin when applied, and is visible especially in the sun.

The textures of these highlighters are smooth and silky although Purple Horseshoe is slightly grittier than the rest. The performance however is not affected by the texture. Four of the six shades feature a duo-chrome effect or color shift and the other two are more typical straight forward pigmented colors. Blue Ice has a blue shift, Purple Horseshoe has a lavender shift, Pink Heart has a light and bright pink shift, and Lucky Clover has a golden green shift. I don’t see as much of a duo-chrome effect in Star or Blue Moon. Star comes off as a pure silver and Blue Moon comes off as an icy blue. I think Anastasia Beverly Hills did a fantastic job creating this palette. When you’re talking about unusual colored highlighters, you don’t just want a pigmented purple or green stripe across your cheek so I think the duo-chrome, color shifting qualities of these powders are perfectly suited for these types of colors.

Overall, I absolutely love this palette and am happy I purchased it. This is a really beautiful, great quality product that is very unique to my makeup collection. However, this palette won’t be everyone’s cup of tea. The Moonchild Glow Kit is clearly not an everyday highlighting palette for the average person since many people aren’t going to want to run around sporting blue or purple shimmering cheekbones. Whether or not this palette is for you is highly dependent on your personal preferences and lifestyle constraints. I personally have no qualms sporting unusual colors on my face, but I am also not restricted to “normal” makeup styles since I don’t work in a professional environment. I think these are ethereal, whimsical, unique, and fun and if you too want to look like a fairy, this is the product for you! If on the other hand you prefer more typical highlights that flatter natural skin tones, I would recommend checking out Anastasia’s other four pan Glow Kits. The Moonchild powders can certainly be used as eye shadows as well, but I wouldn’t have purchased it if my only intention was to use it for eye shadow. If you think it would be fun to experiment with some unusual and duo-chrome colors but don’t necessarily want to take the $40 plunge for this knowing you might not get every day use from it, I would suggest looking into purchasing some duo-chrome single eye shadows since that would give the same effect! Unfortunately I don’t have any recommendations for these since I don’t own any duo-chrome shadows that would work as highlighters, but I know a lot of indie brands sell these types of products.

Please enjoy the photos and swatches below and feel free to ask any questions you may have. I really hope this review was helpful! Have a fantastic day! Until next time.

11 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit: Review and Swatches

Leave a Reply

